Thursday, July 25Please join our Nightly Net at 145.000 MHz -600 KHz (Duplex)

CHARL holds 32nd Anniversary and Induction

The Chocolate Hills Amateur Radio League, Inc. (CHARL) recently held its 32nd Anniversary, Grand Eyeball and Induction of Officers and New Members last January 28, 2018 at the Bohol Tropics Resort Club, this city.

The event was participated in by more than 60 Hams from all over Bohol. Club President, Gerisse Marie Marmito, DU7GMM, welcomed the participants, followed by an Inspirational Message by NTC-7 Bohol Field Office OIC, Engr. Dennis Rocamora. He thanked CHARL and other clubs for their assistance during the just concluded ASEAN series of Summits held here. Engr. Rocamora led the Oath of Renewal of Commitment of all CHARL members.

PARA District 7 Director, Salvador J. Lamoste, DU7AL, delivered a short message with full of encouragement to all old and new members. He administered the Oath-taking of the 8 new members of the Club.

Tagbilaran City Mayor John Geesnell Yap II was the Guest of Honor. In his speech, he emphasized on the partnership of CHARL and the City Government. Mayor Yap administered the Oath of Office of the new Officers, members of the Board of Trustees and the Chairpersons and Members of the Standing Committees. Marmito (DU7GMM) led the inducted Officers and members of the Board of Trustees. The newly inducted New Members are: Junaliza B. Cuñado, Arvin D. Quibir, Elmer F. Apale, Walt Sid P. Flores, Rey B. Cosmo, Arnel Jason E. Lim, John Rudolph O. Villalobos (DY7BOK), and Jarov Bates O. Villalobos.

Mayor Yap also led the list of Honorary Members conferred by the Club. Other honorary members who attended are Engr. Rocamora; Fr. Vicente L. Uy, SVD, Vice President for Administration of the Holy Name University; Red Cross Bohol Chapter Service Representative Mr. Keith Cantoneros; Ens. Khan Pia, Deputy Station Commander, PCG, representing Capt. Edgar B. Boado, Phil. Coast Guard, Tagbilaran Station Commander; and Gerard M. Lavadia, CDRRMC Action Officer.

Other honorary members include: Bohol Provincial Fire Marshal F/Supt. Shiela Andrade; Rep. Erico Aristotle C. Aumentado; Bohol Red Cross Administrator Ms. Merlinda G. Batoy; Tagbilaran PNP Chief, P/Supt. Patricio Degay Jr.; Bohol Provincial Police Director P/SSupt. Angeles B. Geñorga, Jr.; Magic 92.7 Manager, Mr. Mario Jose Mainit; Tagbilaran City Fire Marshal F/CInsp. Randy Mendaros; Cong. Rene L. Relampagos; and Bishop Alberto S. Uy, DD.

To cap the event, the Club presented the 1st Outstanding Boholano Ham Awards 2017 to five (5) member Hams. The awardees per category are as follows: Communication Assistance: Michael P. Madria (DW7BMN); Community Service: Marito B. Gamalo (DV7BMG); Government Service: Gov. Edgar M. Chatto (DW7BDC); Technical Development: Gerald R. Marmito (DU7AU); and Volunteer Service: Ralph Jacob D. Medina (DW7BLX). The award aims to promote public awareness of Amateur Radio and the outstanding Hams who have excelled and made significant contributions in their respective fields of discipline, and to provide role models for other Hams and aspiring Hams for them to emulate their contributions to society and the hobby.

The Club’s Executive Vice President, Maria Theresa U. Marmito (DU7TES), delivered the closing remarks.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *